ti8m_GVZ_Hydrantenapp_header

GVZ Hydranten Finder App

An app that saves precious time

In a fire, every second counts, especially when you need to locate the nearest fire hydrant. To assist firefighters, ti&m has joined forces with the building insurer GVZ Gebäudeversicherung Kanton Zürich to develop Switzerland’s first-ever hydrant finder app. It shows smartphone or tablet users the location of the nearest hydrant, the types of connector, and the number of hose lengths needed. This is possible with augmented reality.

ti8m_GVZ_Hydrantenapp_Leben retten
Pinpoint accuracy

Locating hidden or overgrown hydrants is no longer a problem. The app is particularly useful in poor light conditions and on complex sites, delivering precise information and buying the fire department valuable time to save people, animals, and infrastructure.

ti8m_GVZ_Hydrantenapp_AR
Augmented reality

The hydrant location is displayed via the smartphone or tablet camera. This means hydrants can be located with pinpoint accuracy, even in unfamiliar places. A use case that demonstrates augmented reality’s potential.

ti8m-GVZ-Hydrantenapp-hydrant-low
60,000+ hydrants

More than 60,000 hydrants in the canton of Zurich are already recorded digitally in the app. If any of the details are incorrect, users can correct them easily with a long click.

Kurt Steiner GVZ Portrait Testimonial
“These are exactly the type of innovative technologies that our firefighters need to provide even better protection to our population – for people, animals, and infrastructure – today and in the future.”
ti8m-GVZ-Hydrantenapp-Usability-low
Usability

The needs of app users were fully integrated into each stage of the development from the very outset. For instance, the app was specifically optimized for one-handed operation. Extensive feedback from field tests was incorporated into ongoing refinements.

The UX concept was developed as part of a master’s thesis by three students from the HSR University of Applied Sciences Rapperswil. The thesis is available online and provides interesting insights into the application’s UX development.

ti8m-GVZ-Hydrantenapp-garage-low
An innovation from the ti&m garage

The Hydrant Finder app first saw the light of day in the ti&m garage. Firefighters, designers, and developers joined forces to build the first MVP in just a few weeks. The result was so convincing that the app evolved into a market-ready solution in less than a year.

Marius Matter
Do you have questions about the project?

Get in touch by phone or email. The head of our Zurich office, Marius Matter, would be pleased to help.

ti8m_GVZ_Hydrantenapp_header

GVZ Hydranten Finder App

Eine App, die wichtige Zeit spart

Im Brandfall zählt jede Sekunde, gerade wenn es darum geht, den nächstgelegenen Hydranten zu finden. Um Feuerwehrangehörige zu unterstützen, haben wir zusammen mit der GVZ Gebäudeversicherung Kanton Zürich die erste Hydranten Finder App der Schweiz entwickelt. Die Nutzer sehen damit direkt auf dem Smartphone oder Tablet, wo der am nächsten gelegene Hydrant ist, welche Anschlüsse es gibt und wie viele Schlauchlängen benötigt werden. Augmented Reality macht es möglich.

ti8m_GVZ_Hydrantenapp_Leben retten
Punktgenau

Auch das Auffinden von versteckten oder von Hecken überwachsenen Hydranten ist kein Problem mehr. Gerade bei schlechten Lichtverhältnissen und unübersichtlichen Arealen ist die App eine grosse Hilfe und liefert punktgenaue Angaben. Sie verschafft der Feuerwehr wertvolle Zeit, um Mensch, Tier und Infrastruktur zu retten.

 

 

ti8m_GVZ_Hydrantenapp_AR
Augmented Reality

Ganz einfach über die Kamera vom Smartphone oder Tablet wird der Standort des Hydranten angezeigt. Auch an unbekannten Orten können Hydranten damit punktgenau lokalisiert werden. Ein Use Case, der das Potenzial von Augmented Reality aufzeigt.

ti8m-GVZ-Hydrantenapp-hydrant-low
60’000+ Hydranten

Schon mehr als 60’000 Hydranten im Kanton Zürich sind in der App digital verzeichnet. Sollte mal eine Angabe falsch sein, können die Nutzer diese mit einem Long-Klick einfach korrigieren.

Kurt Steiner GVZ Portrait Testimonial

"Genau solche innovativen Technologien brauchen unsere Feuerwehrleute, damit sie ihren Auftrag im Rahmen des Bevölkerungsschutzes noch besser wahrnehmen können – für heute und morgen, für Mensch, Tier und Infrastruktur."

ti8m-GVZ-Hydrantenapp-Usability-low
Usability

Die Anwender der App wurden von Beginn an in alle Entwicklungsschritte eng eingebunden. Beispielsweise wurde die App speziell auf eine Bedienung mit nur einer Hand optimiert. Das zahlreiche Feedback aus Praxistests floss laufend in die Weiterentwicklung ein.

Das UX-Konzept wurde im Rahmen einer Masterarbeit dreier Studenten der HSR Hochschule für Technik Rapperswil erarbeitet. Die Arbeit ist online abrufbar und gibt einen spannenden Einblick in die UX-Entwicklung der Applikation.

ti8m-GVZ-Hydrantenapp-garage-low
Innovation aus der ti&m garage

Die Hydranten Finder App hat in der ti&m garage das Licht der Welt erblickt. Gemeinsam erschufen Feuerwehrleute, Designer und Entwickler in wenigen Wochen das erste MVP. Das Ergebnis war so überzeugend, dass die App schliesslich in weniger als einem Jahr zu einer marktfähigen Lösung heranwuchs.

Marius Matter
Fragen zum Projekt?

Rufen Sie uns an oder schreiben Sie eine Mail, unser Head Zürich Marius Matter wird Ihnen gerne weiterhelfen.