Tax calculations are highly complex and require knowledge of a huge amount of detail. The previous tax calculator needed to be redesigned and modernized. The printed publication The Tax Burden in Switzerland also needed to be integrated and properly digitalized.

ti&m developed an online tax calculator for the Swiss Federal Tax Administration (EStV). This modern, intuitive online tax calculator allows users to calculate the tax on income, assets, inherited assets, and capital benefits from pensions for all municipalities. Users can also compare different municipalities and calculate the effects of upcoming changes in personal circumstances (marriage, pay rise, etc.) on their tax payments.

An additional module known as “Tax burden statistics” enables different calculation modules to be generated interactively and displayed either as a table for multiple tax years or as a map for the whole of Switzerland. The basic data module includes historical tax data (deductions, tax rates and multipliers), which can be downloaded for study purposes, for instance. The calculator is administered by the EStV via the tax editor backend. Users can log in via the federal e-portal.

The Swiss Federal Tax Administrator (EStV) and ti&m worked together using the agile Scrum approach to enable the client to verify that the planned project goals had been reached after each sprint (every two weeks). Overall progress was mapped on a release burn-up chart and submitted to the steering committee.

Everything at a glance

Tax calculator: Calculate the tax burden on income, assets , inherited assets, gifts, capital benefits from retirement plans, profit and capital – for all municipalities from the year 2014. Tax burden statistics: The additional module enables different calculation modules to be generated interactively and displayed either as a table for multiple tax years and income brackets or as a map for all municipalities across Switzerland. Retrieve basic data: Information about communal tax multipliers, cantonal tax rates and deductions, and historical tax data, which can be downloaded for study purposes, for instance.

All relevant tax types for all municipalities

Users can record key tax data and get a comprehensive tax calculation with just a few clicks. All individual deductions including premium reductions, professional expenses, Pillar 3a payments (private pension contributions) and debt interest can be recorded. General explanatory notes in PDF form and specific information for each field can be accessed by clicking on the relevant buttons. Entries can be stored locally and retrieved whenever necessary.

Simple itemization

Comparison calculations: Users can compare differences in taxes between municipalities and calculate the effects of upcoming changes in personal circumstances (marriage, pay rise, etc.) on their tax payments, displayed side-by-side for comparison. All relevant details for calculations are listed transparently.

Complexity made simple

Differences in the tax burden are displayed clearly on an interactive map. The data can also be displayed as a table and exported for further work. All political municipalities in Switzerland are listed transparently with their individual tax burdens. The “Tax burden” module includes historical periods that can be downloaded for research/analysis purposes, for instance.

“The online tax calculator has over 1,000 users per day – the figures alone tell a clear story. The Swiss Federal Tax Administration also receives a lot of positive feedback from users.”

– Roger Ammann, Swiss Federal Tax Administration

Can be implemented anywhere in Switzerland

Record all key entry data with just a few clicks. Available in multiple languages (DE, FR, IT, ENG). Meets the W3C WCAG 2.0 Level AA accessibility requirements.

Jochen Michlig

Head Java Engineering Bern

Jochen Michlig

Want to know more about the project or product development? I’ve got the ideal solution!

Steuerberechnungen sind sehr komplex und erfordern enormes Detailwissen. Der bisherige Steuerrechner sollte neu konzipiert und modernisiert werden. Zusätzlich soll die bisherige gedruckte Publikation «Steuerbelastung in der Schweiz» integriert und sinnvoll digitalisiert werden.

Für die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung wurde ein neuer Online Steuerrechner entwickelt. Dieser moderne, intuitiv bedienbare Online Steuerrechner ermöglicht das Berechnen der Steuerbelastung für Einkommen und Vermögen, Erbschaften und Kapitalleistungen aus Vorsorge für alle Gemeinden. Zudem können Vergleichsberechnungen zwischen Gemeinden erstellt oder die steuerlichen Konsequenzen bei bevorstehenden persönlichen Veränderungen (Heirat, Lohnerhöhung etc.) berechnet werden.

In einem zusätzlichen Modul «Steuerbelastungsstatistiken» können verschiedene Berechnungsmodelle interaktiv generiert und entweder tabellarisch über mehrere Steuerjahre oder kartografisch für die ganze Schweiz dargestellt werden. Das Modul der Grunddaten umfasst historische Steuerdaten (Abzüge, Tarife und Steuerfüsse), die beispielsweise für Studienzwecke heruntergeladen werden können. Die Administration erfolgt durch die ESTV über das Steuereditor-Backend. Der Login erfolgt via E-Portal des Bundes.

In der agilen Zusammenarbeit nach Scrum zwischen der Eidgenössischen Steuerverwaltung und ti&m wurde die Erreichung der geplanten Projektziele nach jedem Sprint (2-Wochen-Rhythmus) durch den Auftraggeber verifiziert. Der Gesamtfortschritt wurde mit einem Release Burn-Up Chart dargestellt und dem Projektausschuss zur Verfügung gestellt.

Alles auf einen Blick

Steuerrechner: Berechnen der Steuerbelastung für Einkommen und Vermögen, Erbschaften und Schenkungen, Kapitalleistungen aus Vorsorge und Gewinn- und Kapitalsteuern – für alle Gemeinden ab dem Jahr 2014. Steuerbelastungsstatistiken: Im zusätzlichen Modul können verschiedene Berechnungsmodelle interaktiv generiert und entweder tabellarisch über mehrere Steuerjahre und Einkommensklassen oder kartografisch für alle Gemeinden in der Schweiz dargestellt werden. Grunddaten abrufen: Angaben zu Gemeindesteuerfüssen, kantonalen Steuertarifen oder Abzügen und Einblick in historische Steuerdaten, die beispielsweise für Studienzwecke heruntergeladen werden können.

Alle relevanten Steuerarten aller Gemeinden

Mit wenigen Klicks erfassen die Nutzer die zentralen Steuerdaten und erhalten eine umfassende Steuerberechnung. Erfassung aller individuellen Abzüge wie Prämienverbilligungen, Berufskosten, Einzahlung in die Säule 3a oder Schuldzinsen sind möglich. Allgemeine Erklärungen in einem PDF-Dokument und spezifische Informationen bei den Feldern sind mittels eingeblendeter Buttons verfügbar. Die Eingaben können einfach lokal gespeichert und bei Bedarf immer wieder abgerufen werden.

Einfach aufgeschlüsselt

Vergleichsberechnungen: Steuerliche Unterschiede zwischen Gemeinden oder die steuerlichen Konsequenzen bei bevorstehenden persönlichen Veränderungen (Heirat, Lohnerhöhung etc.) können berechnet und vergleichend nebeneinander angezeigt werden. Alle relevanten Details der Berechnung werden transparent aufgelistet.

Komplexität einfach gemacht

Unterschiede in der Steuerlast werden übersichtlich auf einer interaktiven Karte dargestellt. Die Daten können auch als Tabelle angezeigt und für weitere Verwendung exportiert werden. Alle politischen Gemeinden der Schweiz werden mit ihren individuellen Steuerbelastungen transparent dargestellt. Das Modul der Steuerbelastung umfasst z.B. historische Zeitreihen, die beispielsweise für Studienzwecke/Analysen heruntergeladen werden können.

«Der Online-Steuerrechner hat über 1000 Nutzer pro Tag, allein die Zahlen sprechen eine klare Sprache. Dazu erhält die Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung viele positive Rückmeldungen von Nutzerinnen und Nutzern.»

– Roger Ammann, Eidgenössische Steuerverwaltung

Überall in der Schweiz einsetzbar

Mit wenigen Klicks werden die wichtigsten Eingabedaten erfasst. Die Mehrsprachigkeit ist gegeben (DE, FR, IT, ENG). Erfüllt die Accessibility-Regeln des W3C WCAG Version 2.0 mit Level AA.

Jochen Michlig

Head Java Engineering Bern

Jochen Michlig

Was möchten Sie zum Projekt oder zur Produktentwicklung wissen? Ich habe die passende Lösung für Sie!